Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Get Help

In order to secure your use of Zoom (so random individuals do not use your account without your knowledge), Fermilab requires that if your meeting ID (either your personal Meeting ID or a generated one for a scheduled meeting) is posted on a public web page, you must protect your meeting by one of the following two methods -

  1. Password
  2. Disable the "Join before Host" option - meeting will not start until the host joins the meeting

The second option is the only option discussed here. If you are interested in the first please contact lbnf-communication. You will need to do both checks below if you are host for both meetings with your personal ID and scheduled meetings that use a different ID.

How to Disable the 'Join Before Host' Option in Zoom for Meetings that Use Personal Meeting IDs

  1. You will only need to do this once for all meetings using your Personal Meeting ID.
  2. Open your Zoom client.
  3. Click the Settings option in the upper right corner of the client.
  4. Click the Advanced Features icon along the top of the popup window.
  5. Click the Enable Advanced Features link under your name.  This will open a tab in your browser.
  6. Click on the Meetings tab along the left hand side of the browser tab that opened.
  7. Click on the Personal Meetings Tab in the middle of the browser window.
  8. Make sure the Enable join before host option is NOT checked.
  9. If it is -
    1. Click the Edit this Meeting in the bottom right corner.
    2. Uncheck the Enable join before host option.
    3. Click the Save button in the bottom middle of the browser window.
  10. You can close the browser window.

How to Disable the 'Join Before Host' Option in Zoom for Scheduled Meetings not Using a Personal Meeting ID

  1. You need to do this for every scheduled meeting that does not use your Personal Meeting ID.
  2. Open your Zoom client.
  3. Click on the Meetings icon at the bottom of the client window.
  4. Hover your mouse over the meeting you want to check.  A menu will appear under the meeting information. Click the Edit button.
  5. Click the Advanced Options item under Meeting Options on the popup window.
  6. Make sure the Enable join before host option is NOT checked.
  7. Click the Save button.
  8. A calendar window containing the meeting will appear.  You can just close it.